We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What are the Different Tiger Species?

By Lauren Romano
Updated Jun 04, 2024
Our promise to you
All Things Nature is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At All Things Nature, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

The tiger species includes the largest members of the cat family, have an all-meat diet and live in Asia. Although many people believe each type of tiger is an individual tiger species, they are actually each considered a subspecies of tiger. Out of nine subspecies of tigers, three are extinct and six are endangered. The subspecies are Indochinese tiger, Malayan tiger, Siberian tiger, Sumatran tiger, Bengal tiger and South China tiger, although the South China tiger may actually be extinct. The tiger species as a whole is in danger of becoming extinct as there are believed to be fewer than 5,000 left in the wild as of 2010.

The Indochinese tiger lives in the moist forests of Indochina in Southeast Asia. It is unknown how many are left in the world, though there was thought to be only a few hundred remaining as of 2010. The main threats are poaching and fragmentation. As of 2010, the Indochinese tiger was labeled as endangered on the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) Red List of Threatened Species.

The Sumatran tiger subspecies is located on the island of Sumatra. In 2008, it was labeled as critically endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. In 2010, it was estimated that there were only several hundred Sumatran tigers in the wild. Their main threat is the destruction of their habitat, which in turn, eliminates their usual food source. Poaching is also a major problem, as they are hunted for their bones and skin.

The Malayan tiger was listed as a tiger subspecies in 2004. They live on the Malay Peninsula and it's believed that there are only several hundred left in the wild. Due to logging and land development, they often hunt livestock. As a result, many of them are killed in retaliation by farmers. In 2008, the subspecies was labeled as endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.

In 2008, which was the South China Tiger's last assessment as of 2010, the subspecies was labeled as critically endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. They may actually be extinct — as of 2010, there have been no sightings of them in more than two decades. The forests of Southeast China were, or are, their home. In addition to habitat destruction, campaigns to eradicate the tiger subspecies reduced the numbers by thousands over several decades.

Also known as Amur tigers, the Siberian tiger is the largest of the tiger subspecies. They live in Russia as well as in North Korea and China in extremely cold forest areas. Habitat loss is one major threat to the Siberian tiger, however, the largest threat is poaching. As of 2010, the Siberian tiger was labeled as endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.

The Bengal tiger, also known as the Indian tiger, has the largest population of the tiger subspecies as of 2011 with almost 2,000 and its population is stable. Bengal tigers live in the forests of South Asia as well as on grassland — the majority live in India. As of 2010, the Bengal tiger was labeled as endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. As is usually true for the tiger species as a whole, the main threats facing the Bengal tiger are loss of habitat and poaching. White tigers, which are rarely seen in the wild, aren't actually an additional subspecies, but instead, are a type of Bengal tiger.

Tigers, with the exception of white tigers, have a reddish-orange and white coat with dark stripes. Larger males can weigh close to 600 pounds (270 kg) while females can weigh close to 400 pounds (180 kg). In a zoo, tigers can live close to 20 years while in the wild they typically live closer to 15.

All Things Nature is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
All Things Nature, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

All Things Nature, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.