We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Are the Different Gecko Species?

By Cynde Gregory
Updated Jun 04, 2024
Our promise to you
All Things Nature is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At All Things Nature, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Most folks might be able to pick a leopard or crested gecko out of a lineup because they are among the most popular gecko pets. Few people, though, would be unlikely to know the answer to a game show host’s “How many kinds of geckos are there,” even if it meant winning a million bucks. For anyone studying up for just such an eventuality, the answer is that there are over 1,000 gecko species.

Cat and dog lovers might spend endless, relaxed hours gazing into their pets’ eyes, but gecko owners know better than to try to win a stare down with their own little darlings. Some geckos do have eyelids that blink, but they can stare longer than most mammals. Two of the five gecko subfamilies can wink away, while the remaining three subfamily gecko species can’t.

The subfamilies Eublepharinae and Aeluroscalabotinae can flirt with abandon, assuming geckos think eyelash batting is cute. Eublepharineae includes the popular leopard gecko species that hails from Afghanistan and Pakistan. The subfamily Aeluroscalabotinae, whose sole species member is Aeluroscalabotes felinus and is more commonly known as the cat gecko, arrives on foreign shores from Malaysia. Both are considered nocturnal, but leopard gecko owners know them to be party animals that are sometimes willing to stay awake into the brightly lit hours if there’s a reason.

The biggest gecko subfamily, Gekkoninae, has to send subfamily reunion invitations to over 400 subspecies and 900 gecko species. It counts among its members the ever-popular Gekko gekko. It may sound like the name of a garage band, but this tropical gecko, also known as the Tokay gecko, is the second largest of all the species, with males ranging up to 15 inches (40 cm).

Teratoscincinae is a gecko subfamily at the other end of the spectrum. These desert lovers creep their way across Pakistan, Afghanistan, Russia, and China. Some geckologists assign six gecko species to this subfamily, while others claim seven. Also known as the wonder lizard or wonder gecko, their immovable eyelids have earned them the nickname of frog-eyed gecko.

Lizard members of the subfamily Diplodactylinae live both on the ground and in trees. This subfamily is also large, though not as big as Gekkoninae. Species in this group are flashier than some others, wearing bright colors and patterns with aplomb. Should anyone get too close, though, many of these subfamily members will use their tails as effective leave-me-alone clubs.

All Things Nature is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
All Things Nature, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

All Things Nature, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.