We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Are the Different Gecko Morphs?

By Lumara Lee
Updated Jun 04, 2024
Our promise to you
All Things Nature is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At All Things Nature, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Geckos are small lizards that have been bred to produce an abundance of variations known as morphs, which is a color or a pattern that can vary within a species. Sometimes these differences occur in nature, and sometimes they are the result of selective breeding. There are many different kinds of geckos, but leopard geckos and crested geckos in particular have become popular pets that have a wide variety of gecko morphs. Some of the leopard gecko morphs are known as albinos, blizzards, tangerines, and jungles, while some popular crested gecko morphs are tigers, brindles, flames, and harlequins.

Normal leopard geckos have black spots on yellowish-brown skin. This coloration is the result of a dominant gene. Recessive genes occasionally cause gecko morphs with different color of skin. Due to the popularity of geckos as small pets, breeders have used selective breeding to create lines of gecko morphs with striking colors and patterns.

Albino geckos, also known as amelanistic, don’t have any black pigment. They also do not have dark markings or spots like a normal gecko, although they can display various colors and patterns. Unlike albinos of other species, a gecko isn’t required to have red eyes in order to be classified as an albino.

Blizzards are gecko morphs that don’t show any patterns. They are available in many colors, including white, purple, bluish-black, brown, and yellow. Some of them have blue eyes, and both their striking eye color and wide assortment of color variations have made the blizzard one of the most popular gecko morphs.

Tangerine geckos have a bright orange body with a different color tail. They rarely have any patterns on their bodies. When they do have markings, they are usually so muted that they are difficult to see.

Jungle geckos have been selectively bred to have exotic patterns and colors. They may have stripes, spots, or other patterns. Jungles are the only gecko morphs available that have diagonal stripes. They are also characterized by dark stripes on the tail that don’t go all the way around.

A tiger is a morph of the crested gecko. Tiger geckos have distinct stripes across their backs that continue down their sides. These stripes are usually a darker shade of their body color. A variant of the tiger gecko is the brindle morph. Brindles have more patterning, but their markings are more muted than the patterns on the tiger morphs.

All Things Nature is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
All Things Nature, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

All Things Nature, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.